Teaching

In our Primary school, native English classroom teachers deliver all curricular subjects, except for German and Ethics. Music and Physical Education are also instructed by native English subject specialists. In the secondary school each subject is taught by specialist subject area teachers, many of them are native speakers.

KIBS is secular school. We do not favour nor promote any specific religion. We believe that religion is a private family matter. Therefore, we view religion with respect and tolerance. We would like to focus on the positive aspects of the different faiths throughout the world and the similarities we have as people. We want our students to experience the world’s religions equally. This also includes a moral and ethical foundation. Our goal is to give a knowledgeable foundation and the ability to see the world’s religions with respect.

Differentiation

Everyone has unique talents, strengths, and areas for development. Here at KIBS, we celebrate uniqueness in all areas of our school life. All of our unique talents matter in daily life and our children enjoy finding out about the areas in which they shine and demonstrating the unique talents which distinguish themselves from others. Realising their potential in these areas helps our children become more confident and gives them the opportunity to use their talents to advance their education. This is only possible as our class communities respect the uniqueness of everyone. The key to achieving an educational environment based on these principals is differentiation. In our classrooms, individual learning requirements are continuously taken into consideration.

For us, this means:

  • our lessons have common core elements accessible for everyone and additionally enough space for inspiring the development of each child’s personal profile within the classroom
  • being different within our community creates balance and reflects the personality of the individual  – our teachers integrate these opportunities into all the lessons and make them a valuable learning experience for everyone

Differentiation requires our teaching staff to show a high sensitivity for the social, emotional, intellectual, and artistic profile of our children. Helping our students to maintain and develop their innate uniqueness, making them a true individual, is what we all aspire to. Teaching and learning can only be effective if all abilities of our children are being discovered and cherished. We work on this every day: Our yearly, termly, and weekly plans are constantly being evaluated by our teachers to reflect the learning outcomes and underpin the progress being made.

Unterricht

In der Grundschule unterrichten die Native English Teacher als Klassenlehrer die im Curriculum definierten Fächer, bis auf Deutsch und Sport. Der Musikunterricht findet ebenfalls bei einem Native English Teacher statt. Im Gymnasium unterrichten dann Fachlehrkräfte, viele von ihnen sind auch Native English Teacher.

KIBS ist keiner Religion zugehörig. Wir favorisieren oder fördern auch keine solche. Wir sind aber davon überzeugt, dass ein spezifischer Glaube, seine Vermittlung und Ausgestaltung eine Sache der Familie ist. Er betrifft die Intimsphäre von Kindern und Eltern. Daher begegnen wir ihm mit Respekt und Toleranz. Weil wir in religiösem – wie übrigens auch in jeder andere Form von – Fanatismus eines der größten globalen Probleme sehen, möchten wir uns auf die positive Betrachtung von Gemeinsamkeiten der Religionen der Welt konzentrieren. Wir wollen unseren Schülern die Religionen der Welt gleichwertig vermitteln. Das umfasst auch ihre jeweiligen moralischen und ethischen Grundlagen. Unser Ziel ist es, den Religionen der Welt mit Respekt und Wissen über sie begegnen zu können.

Differenzierung

Jeder Mensch hat einzigartige Talente. Diese Überzeugung trägt unser Bildungskonzept. Und auf diese Talente kommt es im Alltag an. Es tut Kindern gut, sicher zu wissen: Ich bin auf einem bestimmten Gebiet etwas Besonderes, was mich von anderen unterscheidet. Dieses Bewusstsein trägt. Es befähigt zur Zuversicht und zum Vermögen, das eigene Talent umzusetzen – und zwar in einem Klassenverband, der das Talent eines Jeden respektiert. Bei KIBS ist ein differenzierter Unterricht der Schlüssel dazu. Nur er berücksichtigt individuelle Lernbedürfnisse.

Das heißt: Wir gestalten Unterricht in Anpassung an die unterschiedlichen Lernbedürfnisse durch eine Kombination aus gemeinsamen Elementen für alle einerseits und viel Raum für das Profil eines jeden Kindes andererseits.

Andersartigkeit in der Gemeinschaft schafft Ausgewogenheit und respektiert dabei entscheidend die Persönlichkeit eines jeden Kindes. Unsere Lehrkräfte integrieren diese Momente in den Unterrichtsprozess und machen Unterschiede damit für den gesamten Klassenverband zu einem Gewinn.

Differenzierung erfordert von den KIBS-Lehrkräften eine hohe Sensibilität für das soziale, emotionale, intellektuelle und künstlerische Profil, das jeden Menschen zu einem unverwechselbaren Individuum macht. Um die vielen Fähigkeiten kleiner und größerer Menschen zur Geltung zu bringen und sie einen Gewinn für alle sein zu lassen, muss Lehren und Lernen effektiv ineinander greifen. Daran arbeiten wir täglich: Unsere Jahres-, Termin- und Wochenpläne werden von unseren Lehrern immer wieder evaluiert, um die Lernergebnisse ständig zu reflektieren.